2020 Impact factor 4.590
Particles and Fields

EPJE news: Julia Yeomans awarded the EPJE P.-G. De Gennes lecture prize

Julia Mary Yeomans.

The 2013 edition of the EPJE Pierre Gilles De Gennes prize has been awarded by the EPJE editors to Professor Julia Yeomans of the University of Oxford, UK. This initiative of the European Physical Journal E - Soft Matter and Biological Physics takes the name from the illustrious Nobel laureate who founded the journal.

Professor Yeomans has been nominated for her profound contribution to the study of the dynamical behaviour of complex and active liquids in confined geometries. She is an expert in theoretical and computational physics, particularly statistical physics, hydrodynamics, soft condensed matter and biological physics. Among her current research interests are microswimmers, active systems, liquid crystals and the interactions of fluids with structured surfaces.

The award ceremony will take place 17 September in Rome at the International Soft Matter Conference 2013, where she will give the award lecture. Prof. Daan Frenkel, Co-Editor in Chief of EPJE, will introduce Prof. Yeomans and present her with the trophy. The prize (1000 euros) is sponsored by the publishers of EPJ (EDP Sciences, SIF and Springer) and is awarded to outstanding scientists for their contribution to Soft Matter research. Previous recipients of this prize are Mike Cates (2011) and Sam Safran (2010).

G. Dissertori, J. Monroe, D. J. Schwarz, K. Skenderis and G. Zanderighi

The author would like to thank two anonymous referees for pointing out several shortcomings in a previous version of this paper and for suggestions to improve its clarity.

J. H. Field

ISSN: 1434-6052 (Electronic Edition)

© Società Italiana di Fisica and